Former President of The Connecticut Archaeological Society 1956-1960, Frank Glynn is credited with rediscovering the “Westford Knight” on 30 May 1954. When he began work on the “carving” in 1954 he was supervised by Lila Fisher (Eliza Capen Fisher, 1870-1957), who told him it was always called “The Old Indian” and that her brother Edward (Edward “Pete” Fisher, 1874-1953) added a carving of a peace pipe
Frank Glynn worked with T. C. Lethbridge (1901-1971) and Frederick J. Pohl (1889-1991) on “The Westford Knight”.
-A Unique Punched Portrait in Massachusetts (Eastern States Archaeological Federation Bulletin 16, page 11, January 1957)
-A Second Mediaeval Marker at Westford, Massachusetts (Eastern States Archaeological Federation Bulletin 26, page 14, June 1967)
Frank Glynn's 1954 chalking of the “carving” of the “Westford Knight”. This was the first time that the “carving” was identified as a full knight in armour. There are no photographs dating from 1954 of the boulder without the chalk marks.
Photo Credit © Cindy Glynn
From David Goudsward, The Westford Knight and Henry Sinclair: Evidence of a 14th Century Scottish Voyage to North America (McFarland & Company, 2010).